Russell Group Membership

Queen's is now a member of the prestigious Russell Group of universities

Queen’s University Belfast is a member of the Russell Group of 24 leading UK research-intensive Universities committed to maintaining the highest standards of research, education and knowledge transfer.

Russell Group universities are major international institutions which also have a strong national and regional role and influence.

The aims and objectives of the Russell Group are to promote the interests of universities in which teaching and learning are undertaken within a culture of research excellence, and to identify and disseminate new thinking and ideas about the organisation and management of such institutions.

Through their outstanding research and teaching, unrivalled links with businesses and a commitment to civic responsibility, Russell Group universities make an enormous impact on the economic, social and cultural wellbeing of the UK.

The members of the Russell Group are:
• Queen's University Belfast
• University of Birmingham
• University of Bristol
• University of Cambridge
• Cardiff University
• Durham University
• University of Edinburgh
• University of Exeter
• University of Glasgow
• Imperial College London
• King's College London
• University of Leeds
• University of Liverpool
• London School of Economics & Political Science
• University of Manchester
• Newcastle University
• University of Nottingham
• University of Oxford
• Queen Mary
• University of Sheffield
• University of Southampton
• University College London
• University of Warwick
• The University of York

For further information on the Russell Group, visit their website at